Moments like this in life or Needed Beauty

Here it is Saturday, and I’m at work.  But I’m trying to keep an upbeat frame of mind!  This morning while I was up early walking Ferguson, I saw the most amazing thing; a tiny, yellow bird, the size of a giant butterfly.  I had to stop everything Ferguson wanted to do to watch it working on a flower as if it were a bee.  Then its magnificent yellow wings flashed by so quickly and alighted in a tree, I may have missed it if I it had been any other morning.  It was the tiniest most tropical bird I’ve seen in the wild.  I’m not superstitious and don’t believe in omens and signs, but I believe in reminders.  The little yellow bird served as a bright reminder for me, on my sixth day of work in row, of all that is worth loving about life, the natural beauty of the world, and of the wonders of my new city.

Goldfinch – Tiny, magical yellow bird

Musings on my new profession:

The thing about my job is that I’m busy for over 9 hours a day.

The thing about my job is that I don’t get a lunch six months out of the year.  This is the first time that I’ve had a job that is seasonal busy, and that includes Sonic!

The thing about my job is that people are awesome.

The thing about my job is that people suck.

The thing about my job is the least able and qualified people think they are the most deserving.

The thing about my job is that I take a lot of complaints for a free service.

The thing about my job is that I have a hard time differentiating when I’m being nice, from when I’m faking it.

The thing about my job is that most clients think that moving is stressful, and that this is a unique condition for them.

The thing about my job is that there’s only one of me.  The thing about having a singular position is that you can’t be sick, or leave early, or make an appointment during working hours. The thing about it is that I am now missed while I’m away from work by the company, not just my co-workers.

The thing about my job is I often get blamed for things that aren’t my fault.

The thing about my job is that I work with some very nice people.

The thing about my job is that I have to repeat myself often.

What I’ve learned from my job:

People don’t understand what “business days” mean.

Certain nationalities take time more seriously than others.

Some people can’t prioritize.

Now that I review this list, most of these things can be applied to most jobs.  We work to live.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elaina
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 15:28:11

    “The thing about my job is that most clients think that moving is stressful, and that this is a unique condition for them.”

    Love that. So hilarious and so true!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

